Events Calendar

Throughout the year, we offer opportunities to explore the coastal mountains landscape with natural historians and others, and to discuss and learn about conservation issues important to our region. For updates on events listed below, please also check local newspapers and All our events are open to the public and, unless otherwise noted, free of charge. For those events indicating group size limitations, advance registration is necessary. To register for such events, or for more information on any event, please contact us.

* Indicates a child-friendly event. Please note that children must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

2015 Events Calendar

For additional outings and events coordinated by us, please continue to revisit this page and check our Facebook page.

Also, we frequently participate in outings and events coordinated by the Belfast Bay Watershed Coalition. Please find their calendar here.

What are we up to next?


Monthly Naturalist Walks

Interested in learning about birds, trees, flowers, insects, animal tracks and other areas of natural history? Coastal Mountains Land Trust will co-host monthly natural history walks with the Camden Conservation Commission.

Walks take place on the first Saturday or Sunday of each month. Registration is not necessary - simply show up and see what you can learn!


back to top

We've got a lot happening on Beech Hill this year!


Beech Nut, the historic, sod-roofed stone hut atop Beech Hill on our Beech Hill Preserve, is open to the public two days/month from May through October each year. During these open houses, a volunteer docent is on hand to answer questions about the history of the building and the preserve, and field guides and other informational materials are available for visitors. Restored in 2007, this special building is well worth a visit by young and old alike--the views alone make the walk up the hill worthwhile!

  • Saturday, May 23, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, June 10, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Sunday, June 21, 6:30 PM – 8:00 PM (Summer Solstice)
  • Wednesday, July 1, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, July 18, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 1, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM (Members’ BlueberryPick)
  • Sunday, August 2, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM   (Public Free Pick)
  • Saturday, August 22, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 13, 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Monday, September 28, 5:30 PM – 7:00 PM (Full Harvest Moon)
  • Wednesday, October 7, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Saturday October 17, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM


Poet and teacher Gary Lawless of Nobleboro wil be the Poet In Residence on Beech Hill Preserve from June 21 - July 28. He will be coordinating a number of poetry-related events, all of which are free and open to the public. Also see his Beech Hill blog.

  • Sunday, June 21, 6:30 -8:00 PM, Summer Solstice Gathering
  • Tuesday, June 23, 7:00 - 9:00 AM, Birdsong/Poetry walk with birder and poet Kristen Lindquist
  • Wednesday, July 1, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM, Beech Nut Open House
  • Thursday, July 2, 7:00 - 8:30 PM, Full Moon Poetry and Tea Event
  • Tuesday, July 7, 10:00 AM, Poetry Walk
  • Tuesday, July 14, 10:00 AM, Children's Poetry Walk *
  • Saturday, July 18, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM, Beech Nut Open House
  • Tuesday, July 21, 10:00 AM, Poetry Walk
  • Tuesday, July 28, 10:00 AM, Poetry Walk/Blueberry Farm Tour

Lincolnville artist Dudley Zopp will offer several additional Beech Nut Open Houses to provide opportunities for the public to experience her art installation "Stones on the Move," which will be in the hut during her term as Artist In Residence. Learn more about Dudley and her work at her website.

  • Wednesday, August 12, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Friday, August 14, Opening Reception, 5:00 – 7:00 PM
  • Wednesday, August 19, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 22, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, August 26, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, Sept. 2, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, Sept. 9, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM

For more information about our Arts on the Hill program, click here.


We've put together several special events this summer to give visitors a closer look at our organic blueberry farm on the Beech Hill Preserve. Hope you can join us!

  • Blueberry Storytime at the Hut
    Beech Nut, Beech Hill Preserve, Rockport
    Wednesday, July 22 & Wednesday, August 5, 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Join Camden Public Library Children's Librarian Miss Amy up at Beech Nut for a blueberry-themed story time.  Fresh Beech Hill blueberries will be available for children’s snacking. Co-sponsored with Camden Public Library.

  • Poetry Walk & Farm Tour
    Beech Hill Preserve, Rockport
    Tuesday, July 28, 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

As part of his Arts on the Hill residency, Poet Gary Lawless will lead a walking poetry workshop that will focus on the blueberry farm.

  • Cooking and Fermenting with Blueberries
    Wednesday, July 29, 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    Boynton McKay's kitchen, 30 Main Street, Camden
    Fee: $60. Space limited; pre-registration required!

Join Chef Frank Giglio to learn how to craft blueberry wine, mead, infused vinegars, salsas and shrubs. Participants will go home with all recipes and a coupon for 15 pounds of B-grade blueberries from the farmstand. To register for this 14-student class, call 236-7091. Get a taste for Frank at

  • Pollinator Walk
    Beech Hill Preserve, Rockport
    Thursday, August 13 10:00 – 11:30 AM

Master gardener and beekeeper Amy Campbell will lead this interpretive walk to discuss the importance of native pollinators on Beech Hill and beyond.

back to top

back to top