Events Calendar

Throughout the year, we offer opportunities to explore the coastal mountains landscape with natural historians and others, and to discuss and learn about conservation issues important to our region. For updates on events listed below, please also check local newspapers and villagesoup.com. All our events are open to the public and, unless otherwise noted, free of charge. For those events indicating group size limitations, advance registration is necessary. To register for such events, or for further information on any event, please contact us.

* Indicates a child-friendly event. Please note that children must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

2014 Events Calendar

For additional outings and events, please continue to revisit this page and check our Facebook page.

photo by Brian Willson

*

Monthly Naturalist Walks

Interested in learning about birds, trees, flowers, insects, animal tracks and other areas of natural history? Coastal Mountains Land Trust will co-host monthly natural history walks with the Camden Conservation Commission.

Walks take place on the first Saturday or Sunday of each month. Registration is not necessary - simply show up and see what you can learn!

**************************

back to top

2014 BEECH NUT OPEN HOUSE SCHEDULE *

Beech Hill Preserve, Rockport

Beech Nut, the historic, sod-roofed stone hut atop Beech Hill on our Beech Hill Preserve, is open to the public two days/month from May through October each year. During these open houses, a volunteer docent is on hand to answer questions about the history of the building and the preserve, and field guides and other informational materials are available for visitors. Restored in 2007, this special building is well worth a visit by young and old alike--the views alone make the walk up the hill worthwhile!

  • Saturday, May 24, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, June 11, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Friday, June 27, 4:00 - 6:00 PM: Beech Nut's 100th Birthday Party!
  • Wednesday, July 2, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM: Opening reception for Arts on the Hill
  • Saturday, July 19, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 2, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM: Members' Blueberry Pick
  • Sunday, August 3, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM: Public Blueberry Pick
  • Wednesday, August 23, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 14, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM: Kites & Ice Cream Event
  • Wednesday, September 24, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, October 8, 6:00 - 8:00 PM: Full Harvest Moon
  • Saturday, October 25, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Arts on the Hill: Artists and musicians are invited to share their work with the public in Beech Nut for one month's time between May and October. Specific guidelines apply, please contact the office for more information and instructions on how to apply.

  • July - Local artist George Mason will install his relief tapestries in Beech Nut to invite a conversation between color, texture, and tranquility. Visit during these special open houses to view George's work and speak to the artist.
  • Wednesday, July 2, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM Opening reception
  • Saturday, July 5, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, July 9, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Saturday, July 26, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Sunday, July 27, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Wednesday, July 30, 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

back to top

back to top