What We Protect

Photo courtesy of Sean Carnell

Coastal Mountains Land Trust actively works to conserve land for the public benefit in fifteen towns; Rockport, Camden, Hope, Lincolnville, Northport, Belmont, Belfast, Swanville, Brooks, Knox, Waldo, Searsport, Stockton Springs, and Prospect.

Our priority is to conserve land that supports and contains:
  • Key wildlife habitat supporting biological diversity
  • Rivers, lakes, wetlands, and the bay
  • Working farms and forests that support our community
  • Scenic landscapes essential to our sense of place
  • Public access to natural areas for hiking, paddling, swimming, hunting, winter recreation, mountain biking and other forms of outdoor enjoyment
  • Trails and connectivity between people and nature
  • Opportunities for building community